Crime rates are likely to decrease as advancements in technology make it easier to prevent and solve crimes. Agree or disagree

Opinions are divided on whether technological advances can help to reduce crime levels. Personally, I believe this is only true when it comes to crimes in real life, as cyber criminals are more likely augmented by this development instead.

The positive contribution of technological appliances chiefly concerns the fight against crimes in real life. Examples of this include fingerprint locks, face IDs, and tracking technologies encrypted in mobile devices, which help to deter thieves and prevent unwanted access to personal data. In many situations, technology can also help law enforcers apprehend criminals and establish convincing chains of evidence for prosecution. For instance, footage from CCTVs can provide visual proof of an offense, while more advanced technologie can also be used to quickly identify the suspect from the fingerprints they leave on the crime scene.

Notwithstanding the above argument, I contend that cybercrimes have become more serious as a result of technological development. This is because criminals now have more tools to achieve their goals, with the most notable example being identity theft, as the criminals can hack into social media accounts of other users and deceive their friends into transferring money. There are also many websites enticing people to gamble or make fraudulent investments, causing them significant losses of money. However, as these websites are based in other countries and use fake IP addresses, it is hard to apprehend the owners and compensate the victims. The increasingly widespread use of AI, which can be utilized to make deepfake videos and imitate voices, is likely to make the fight against crafty cyber criminals even more challenging.

In conclusion, I agree that technological advances have facilitated the fight against crimes in real life. However, the opposite is the case with regard to offenses in digital spaces, as cyber criminals can exploit loopholes in systems to scam people and extract important data.