Day 1- With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern society, it is a widespread trend among people to communicate via smartphones and computers, therefore, writing has become less common. Because of this growing tendency, some individuals hold the view that the disappearance of the traditional way of writing is inevitable. Although I agree with the former point of view, I firmly disagree with the extinction of handwriting in the future and this essay will elaborate on my stance in this issue.

On the one hand, it is true that fewer people are communicating through letters these days due to the increasing advancement of technology. Mobile devices are considered a more convenient and quick communication tool. People opt for texting, calling, or emailinh as those activities offer easy accessibility and availability. In contrast, writing letters requires more travelling and extended hours to finish, which seems inconvenient and not suitable in today’s hectic world. For instance, people living in different time zones have to rely on various social platforms to contact, compared to letters which demand a greater deal of time and money.

Despite the numerous benefits of communicating online, I believe that it cannot completely replace handwriting. Firstly, writing symbolizes the beauty of the language and the cultural identity of the nation, therefore, many people will still use this method as a way of appreciating and preserving the national language. Secondly, handwriting improves critical thinking and debating skills, while using smart devices to write with the assistive tools will not sharpen these essential skills. For instance, students in universities must still be forced to write essays by hand in the future since writing by technological tools may contribute to plagiarism among young people. Finally, letters are still necessary in special occasions such as writing graceful wishes on cards for a special person as writing letters by hand showcases more sincerity and genuine love.

In conclusion, I contend that writing has become less popular on account of the increasing development and the widespread use of mobile devices, however, I believe that the modern communication tool will certainly not be the substitution of the traditional one.