Day 1- With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these few decades, communication technology has developed rapidly, such as the invention of mobile phones and computers. Some people argue that the development of communication technology could lead to a complete disappearance of the traditional skill of writing letters. Although this is a controversial statement, I have to agree with that.

First, there is no doubt that digital technology is replacing the traditional letters because of how convenient it is. Written letters have to be delivered by the postman and the time of delivery is unpredictable, while the digital messages and emails can be sent from device to device in just one second. For example, It is time-consuming to arrange a meeting with the employees who are overseas with letters. The delivery may take a few weeks overseas even by airmail so the meeting might be on hold for weeks. That is why people prefer to use digital messages.

Furthermore, there is a potential risk in security during the delivery. Since letters are handled by postmen at the post office, there might be human error like falsely sorted letters. Moreover, there might be letter stealers at the post office that can cause the loss of letters. A fire wall was set up for the digital device in order to prevent the invasion from the hackers. For example, for WhatsApp, messages are end to end encrypted, meaning that the messages will only be available to the party that is sent to. Therefore, writing letters became the second priority for people to communicate.

In conclusion, since our city has transformed to a digital city, phones and computers offer people a safe, convenient and advanced platform to communicate, the traditional writing skills probably would completely disappear in the near future.