Day 1- With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these few decades, communication technology has developed rapidly, such as mobile phones and computers. Some people argue that the development of communication technology could lead to a complete disappearance of the traditional skill of writing letters. Although this is a controversial statement, I have to agree with that.

First, there is no doubt that digital technology is replacing the traditional letters because of how convenient it is. When writing letters have to be delivered by the postman and the time of delivery is unpredictable, the digital messages and emails can be sent from device to device in just one second. Furthermore, there is a potential risk of privacy invasion during the delivery. The letters can be opened by strangers as there are not enough security measures in the post. A fire wall was set up for the digital device in order to prevent the invasion from the hackers. Therefore, writing letters became the second priority for people to communicate.

A further reason is, the spelling of words has become less necessary in modern society. That can be explained by the invention of automatic correction of words. It allows people no need to remember the spelling of words. Since writing letters no longer is a habit for people to write, the skills of it would eventually disappear.

In conclusion, since our city has transformed to a digital city, phones and computers offer people a safe, convenient and advanced platform to write, the traditional writing skills probably would completely disappear in the near future.