Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new resources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

There is an increased demand for natural resources such as oil and gas in urban areas. I believe that sources should be recovered from untapped areas in rural communities to relieve the demand rate. In this essay I would argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

First and foremost, remote regions may undergo major redevelopment which is needed. In most rural areas ,there are fewer infrastructure and amenities necessary for boosting the local economy. If the source of oil and gas were shifted to less privileged communities, it may lead to generation of revenue in such areas. Funds may be generated from these sources and allocated for the development of useful infrastructure such as housing and water systems. Moreover, extracting oil and gas from remote regions creates employment opportunities for local residents. For example, in a small village in India, an oil well was discovered. As a result, multiple locals began working as diggers and miners for the government, gaining a stable source of income.

Furthermore, the demand for oil and gas has resulted in price inflation in these commodities. Oil and gas are used for various purposes, such as fuelling cooking stoves, cars and machinery. Due to the high demand the prices have risen significantly. With this approach more resources could be found to meet the demand, thereby reducing prices. For instance, the Nigerian government mostly imported its fuel from the west in the past and sold oil and gas at exorbitant prices to the public. However, after discovering a large oil well in Port-Harcourt. Currently, the Nigerian government subsidies the sale of fuel due to the availability of the local sources.

In conclusion, while the demand of oil and gas is growing, it has led to price inflation in these products. I believe sourcing from remote areas will not only increase the supply but also generate revenue for local communities. grade