Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

In our modern world, although governments have taken plenty of measures to help citizens access education, many adults today are still illiterate. This essay will shed light on the drawbacks of this trend before suggesting some feasible solutions that authorities can implement.

I have to acknowledge that illiterate people can face lots of consequences. First and foremost, this tendency will hinder their personal growth. Without the ability to read documents, books and other materials with accumulated knowledge, individuals will be unable to broaden their minds about some aspects of today’s world, such as financial hubs, politics or even their potential. This will stifle their personal growth and impede their goal development. Moreover, there will be a decrease in the employee rate and that country’s economic situation, and it can also lead to a higher risk of criminals. Because most criminals come from illiterate backgrounds, society may become worse if this trend continues.

However, governments can do two main solutions to put an end to this tendency. Perhaps one of these is providing education to people who live in remote areas. According to a research from Vietnam News, people who live in rural and mountainous areas seem to have a higher rate of being unable to read and write. So the government can invest in education in these areas and build more schools suitable for illiterate adults. The second solution that authorities can deal with is to create flexible study schedules for adults and also subsidize their tuition. If some adults are stuck in their class schedules, governments can provide them with online classes, which are more convenient for people to learn regardless of their geographic distance. Furthermore, some individuals may be ashamed of their family budgets, so authorities can encourage these people by supporting their tuition fees. The above things can partly contribute to reducing illiteracy in adults.

In conclusion, there are plenty of consequences that a lack of reading and writing skills in adults can cause to themselves and to society. However, I believe that governments can implement the aforementioned solutions to deal with this problem.