Development in technology has brought various enviornmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a preponderance of evidence suggesting that technological advances, such as plastic bags, fossil-based vehicles and hydroelectricity have posed certain dangers to the environment. In order to address such problems and preserve the Earth as we know it, some people suggest that people lead simpler lives and consume less energy, while others think differently, saying that only technological advancements could holistically solve those problems. I believe that the latter view is more justifiable for several reasons.

Admittedly, one might argue that by changing our lifestyles, we could affect positive changes to the environment. This is predicated on the assumption that we could all cut back on the use of plastic bags, straws and packaging, avoid making extraneous trips to reduce our carbon footprint, and reduce our electricity consumption so that less Oil, coal and gas is burned. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because alternatives to plastic bags could do more harm than good, as seen in the way alternative products made of wood or wool could lead to deforestation or severely contaminate drinking water respectively. Similarly, asking people to travel less is decidedly difficult, nay, impossible because it may violate their freedom of choice, and deciding which trip is unnecessary is also entirely problematic.

Only by developing new technologies could we deal with the aforementioned conundrums, and there is now a large body of empirical evidence underlying this viewpoint. For example, Bill Gates and his team have designed a technology that harnesses solar power to melt most commonly used metals. This could help reduce the amount of fossil fuel needed, which is accompanied with lower amounts of greenhouse gases released. In addition, many leading scientists in the field of energy predicted that by the year 2030, solar energy will have become even cheaper than non-renewable sources, making it possible for us to sustain our current lifestyles, while reducing our carbon footprint. Also, plastic bags, though rife with problems, are currently the optimal choice, so not until an invention comes along to replace them could we hope to terminate the use of such an item.

In conclusion, although there are reasons to say that we should lead a simpler lifestyle for the sake of the environment, it is wiser to develop more advanced technologies to resolve existing environmental problems. Human ingenuity has helped us battle countless existential challenges over the course of human history and it will help us prevail.