Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree?

WRITE YOUR ANSWER HERE:

The transition between generations has brought about significant changes in many operations and management, sparking heated debates on whether juniors or seniors are more suitable to take part in the organizational structure. While some hold that the youngsters should be empowered to take on leadership positions, others claim the very opposite. I strongly believe that both age groups possess distinctive traits, and the balanced combination of the two groups is indispensable to create the most effective leadership boards.

On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why organizations should be led by the older members. This is because they have had more opportunities to encounter the challenges and setbacks of leadership over their intensive working period in the organization, equipping them with extensive experience and strategic vision to tackle the difficulties more effectively. Moreover, unlike their younger counterparts, senior leaders could potentially have composure and emotional steadiness, which is beneficial to them when making critical decisions for the long-term existence of the organization. As a result, the elderly would probably have sufficient qualities to take the lead and shoulder key responsibility during challenging times.

On the other hand, one might approve of the notion that young people are better suited for leadership roles. In fact, the younger people could enhance leadership effectiveness in organizations in this contemporary society compared to those in the previous decades because they have greater chances to be exposed to new technological breakthroughs and diverse information at an early stage, facilitating them in accumulating adequate skills to lead the modern organizations efficiently. Besides, the younger members are highly adaptable and creative, permitting them to implement innovative approaches to the organizational operation. Therefore, the institutional structure might be enhanced constantly instead of being operated in an original way, consistent with contemporary trends.

In conclusion, both young and older members’ roles in leading an organization are inseparable as well as mutually complementary. While senior members could provide strategic guidance, junior leaders would utilize the modern advances to carry out these instructions more effectively, taking advantage of strong points of the two to achieve long-term existence.