Economic progress is one way to measure the success of a country. Some people believe there are other factors. What other factors should be considered? Of these other factors, one is the more important than others?

Some argue that economic progress is the optimal option for assessing a nation’s success. Others, however, believe that other factors also play a vital role. Personally, I firmly believe that the quality of individuals’ lives is also a main key in measuring a country’s success and every factor contributing to national success is equally important.

On the one hand, the level of people’s satisfaction is one of the main factors, alongside economic development, in assessing a country’s prosperity. Undeniably, the workforce, who are citizens of a nation, is the main contributor to the national growth. Therefore, it is crucial to satisfy them, bolstering the workforce through different acts such as providing them basic needs and promulgating beneficial policies towards them. New Zealand is a prime example for ensuring the happiness of its people. This country has not only provided several financial incentives towards the workforce, but it has also invested in different public services such as the educational system or public infrastructure, resulting in the high level of satisfaction of its people, making New Zealand become one of the happiest countries in the world. Hence, despite the importance of economic advancement, the quality of individuals’ lives also acts as a vital factor in considering a country’s success.

Furthermore, the equality of different factors plays a vital role in contributing the national success. In today’s society, it is undeniable that there is an interconnection between economic expansion and the quality of both physical and mental well-being of countries’ citizens. Evidently, if the basic needs are meet, alongside with financial incentives that are created through individual-oriented policies, people’s work productivity can increase since people will have more time and energy to devote for their work. This, in turn, would be one of the main catalysts contributing to the economic advancement. And when the country becomes wealthier as the national economy expand, people’s lives would be improved. This would not only facilitate for individuals to follow their personal pursuits or fulfilling activities, but also allow government to invest in public infrastructure such as the healthcare system or educational system. Hence, it is impractical and detrimental for countries to focus solely on certain factors since those contributors have a intrinsic interconnection and mutual enforcements.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on whether there is most important factor contributing to the national success, I firmly believe that every factor has their connections with others. By devoting attention equally on different contributors, nations can ensure their overall developments and securing a healthy life for their citizens.