Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. To what extent do you agree

Opinions are divided whether having more days off will affect the employees’ job. Although this practice may bring about certain negative impacts, its benefits far outweigh them.

Admittedly, there are some disadvantages to giving more vacation days to workers. One of them is that the workflow of a company may be impacted negatively as most contribution is made by the business workforce. As a result, elements sustaining operation, such as products sold and productivity, can potentially diminish, thus pushing businesses to the edge of bankruptcy or reducing company size. Furthermore, more holidays given might even distract the employees from their tasks, which is detrimental to the productivity contributed to their employers. This is because more days off require more time spent on planning for holiday-related activities, which potentially deprive individuals of their working time.

Despite some aforementioned drawbacks, this practice brings about far more positive impacts to the major workforce in businesses. First of all, a surge in satisfaction among companies’ employees can be seen with an increase in office leave days because this factor is crucial for employers in keeping the workflow. Consequently, elements affecting the operations of organizations such as productivity and satisfaction can see an upward trend, resulting in a significant increase in company size and profits. Secondly, in an employee’s personal life settings, more holidays given by employers can enhance life quality of the individuals, which is a fundamental element that contribute to the overall productivity. Therefore, companies’ workers can achieve work-life balance and higher level of happiness, thus assuring better physical and mental health in later period of their lives.

In conclusion, even though this policy may indeed bring certain drawbacks related to interrupting workflow and deprived worktime, the advantages in terms of the work satisfaction and workers’ health are seen to have more significant impact. Based on the aforementioned reasonings, I contend that longer holidays should be given to employees to encourage them to do their jobs well.