Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The assertion of Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders is a very nuanced topic and should be discussed with comprehensive understanding of the multifaceted factor affecting the global challenges . Climate change , rise in sea level , pollution etc has been one of the most common environmental issues and this is common across almost every country . To begin with MNC’s , factories are the major contributors to the negative impact on environment . The extraction of natural resources, energy consumption, and waste generation associated with industrial activities contribute significantly to environmental degradation. The government has a role here to have stringent policies and guidelines for the organizations to follow and many countries do have that . But some organizations may offend these policies for various reasons like greed , human error , old technology , not caring about the impact made to the environment etc. Governments generally have a governing body that monitors these companies whether they abide by the regulations or not . The offenders are imposed with fine and warning by the governing body which is actually a positive action . But this doesn’t have much effect and the offenders tend to repeat it . The government to can’t straightaway seize an offending organization as many employees would suffer the punishment in the crime which they weren’t directly involved . Secondly the common public also tend to affect the environment by polluting it . Governments could not possibly have the manpower to monitor each and every citizen and punish in case if they do not obey the rules . In many countries the causing environmental issues is not even a offence . But now there is a really positive change as the governments have now started to persuade the citizens towards a cleaner nation .Many nations are now participating in the G20 summit and planning to reduce the carbon emission to zero as soon as possible and this has shown its results internationally . This would help in reducing the environmental issues as the public gets motivated and tends to contribute also the MNC’s , factories etc are monitored strictly for a global cause .