Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that the indulgence of governments towards those who commit environmental crimes hinders the solutions of these issues, such as climate change. Though it is true there is an evident negligence, this is not the reason for it to be an international matter, and penalties towards the perpetrators are not are not a viable solution to the vastness of the predicament. Most pollution is produced by multi-national companies who are staples when it comes to day-to-day products, which imposes a hindrance to their punishment.

The form our society takes is nothing more than an eternal trade of goods that, much like an ecosystem of its own, depends on an incredibly precarious balance of people’s comfort. As long as a business has enough customers, it is futile to attempt to shut it down, for it is a base of sustenance for these countless people. This means they shall attempt everything to get that commodity back. An example of this is Coca-cola, appointed as the brand that produces the most waste. It cannot cease selling nor do people stop purchasing it, and its plethora of users spread out around the world make it inconceivable for the drink to disappear. Thus, the idea of modifications for environmental ends are left fully to the brand’s own autonomy.

As such, it is evident that the myriad of companies guilty of contamination are not the only offenders, as they ride on public support. Alas, given the situation where one of them were to face retribution, it is unlikely this would have much of an effect. This is due to the fact that the foundation behind environmental problems is not those who chop trees, but the foundation set by a society that condones and replicates this behavior under the excuse of a greater good. It is clear that the lack of consequences impose a terrible example for those willing to commit such crimes but one cannot hope to subjugate a population through fear of authority, since actions will simply happen whenever this figure is not around. It is evident in contexts such as parks, where one sees people who check that there is no one to judge them before littering. Or they make up excuses for things they know are wrong as if to buffer the impact these actually had.

In conclusion, though it is true that environmental issues should have greater attention placed upon them, this implies action further from chastising whoever uses too much water. It requires people to give up consumist tendencies and embrace the possibility of having to endure slight discomfort in their life.