Even though governments have worked hard to bring about improvements in the healthcare system, the overall standard of physical health in developed countries is decreasing. What are the potential reasons for this, and what are some of the long-term effects?

Health problems, including heart disease, diabetes, obesity, and other chronic diseases are

Widespread in developed world countries despite their advanced healthcare. Many reasons contribute to poor health. This phenomenon can have long-term effects on society.

Several factors decrease the overall standard of physical health. An unhealthy diet and poor food choices majorly affect health damage. People in a fast-paced society usually don’t think carefully about what to eat. They prefer readily accessible meals such as fast food and highly processed snacks. Moreover, fast-paced living strips people of their sense of time. Instead of having a fixed time and setting to eat, citizens of such capital cities will have breakfast on a train, or lunch at the office. Moreover, since adopting a healthy lifestyle is costly.

If poor health problems continue in such societies without urgent measures to mitigate these long-term effects, they will worsen. Chronic diseases such as obesity will no longer be looked at as a threat. Normalization of such problems can surely lead to new unknown genetic problems. For example, a study shows that shorter generations of people is due to poor sleep habits. With lower standards of health, governments need to pay more for medical care. High costs of health care may pose a challenge to people also.

All in all, a substandard diet results in stress. Stress results in serious threats to one’s physical well-being. Leading a busy life in big bustling cities with a minimum sense of self-care could benefit not only individuals but societies.