Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

It is generally acknowledged that poverty has become a major problem across the globe where billions of people cannot afford their basic needs. In this essay, I will examine the factors that contribute to the problem and propose some solutions to it.

There are several factors that possibly cause a number of people to live in poverty. The first factor is the lack of education. Up to the present, the thought of “education is a privilege” is somehow relatable to some impoverished people. They cannot afford high tuition fees and fulfill their academic needs, such as uniforms, books, and even electronic devices to support the learning process. Such conditions hinder them from going to school and preparing themselves for the future, resulting in them living with fewer choices. Secondly, this terrible circumstance of poverty is also derived from gender inequality. The viewpoint of men dominating socioeconomic opportunities has restricted women from breaking the chain of poverty and obtaining a decent living. This condition is exacerbated when women once get the chance of being in a labor market, in which they often end up earning little money compared to men. On the other hand, discrimination can easily be found in some employers where they prefer males to females for certain positions, making it more challenging for women to achieve better economic conditions.

A few solutions can be taken to help reduce the number of poor people. First, a higher budget for education so that it can accommodate underprivileged people to go to school. This is an essential and fundamental step to change their conditions in the long term. Obtaining education can help them prepare with the knowledge and skills needed in the future. It can also increase their competitiveness in the upcoming labor market. The second factor is to enforce labor laws and regulations that promote equality. A fair recruitment process will enable both males and females to show their potential in employment, opening up a better living for them. In addition, there must be regulations where women need more protection from discrimination, coercion, and any forms of abuse that force them to leave their jobs and return to their poor lives.

In conclusion, poverty is mainly caused by a lack of education and gender inequality issues. Therefore, this essay suggests that high investment in education and inclusive law will help poor people get better chances in socioeconomic aspects.