Every year several language die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

A number of languages disappear each year. Many people believe that trend is not alarming since fewer languages will help to simplify the process of many fields of social life. However, I disagree with that statement. Because languages preserve culture and help the government save the budget.

At first glance, culture can be kept by another language. To illustrate, in the USA Vietnamese people still eat traditional foods, wear “ao dai” and venerate dead relatives; however, they do not know how to use Vietnamese. That means we do not need many languages but culture will still be preserved. Although I have some sympathy for this view it is also true that they cannot preserve culture without knowing language the tradition originated from. Since they will not understand the sense and source of these customs. Not clearly understanding one work that we cannot do it regularly and tradition cannot be preserved through many generations. Learning the language therefore is necessary to investigate cultural values. To illustrate, in order to explore meaning Ancestor worship we need to learn “Nom character” to read ancient documents were written from a century ago. All of that proves the importance of languages from protecting culture.

It seems a fair suggestion that protecting dead languages is wasting the government’s budget and the economy will grow if the government use that money to invest in another field. Although money investing in dead languages has received effective results more than we thought. Studying dead languages can help the government in many fields, especially medical. Experience from more than two thousand years helps medical professionals a lot in finding solutions to killing ancient viruses. All that knowledge is written in old languages. Therefore, if an ancient virus was transmitted, the government can quickly find the source of the virus and why the virus was rife in the past. From that can easily prevent viruses. To illustrate, scientists and archaeologists have learned about hieroglyphs and have succeeded in saving people from diseases. It means languages do not make the economy weaker; instead, it foster economic growth.

To conclude, it is apparent that old languages are needed to protect and develop offers more advantages by preserving culture and gaining more knowledge from many fields.