Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people argue that parents who choose private schools should be exempted from paying taxes that fund the state education system. While this view seems reasonable since these families do not use public schools, I strongly believe that they should still give a hand.

To begin with, public education provides essential advantages to all members of society. Firstly, public education produces the majority of future workers and professionals, especially children nowadays because they are the ones who carry the country’s future. For example, taxes in Japan ensure all children, especially those from low-income families, have access to basic education, which benefits the whole country. As a result, a society which has universal education is much more sustainable, productive, and safer. To illustrate, countries with strong public education systems, such as Finland or Canada, enjoy high social mobility and lower crime rates because all children receive quality schooling.

Moreover, allowing private-school parents to avoid paying for education can create inequality and financial pressure that harm the whole society. Since the government relies heavily on tax revenue to pay for teachers’ salaries, school facilities and several special programs for students, if a large number of parents do not pay taxes, public schools as well as the state education system can deal with budget shortages, leading to decreased social quality. For instance, in some countries where public schools are not supported, wealthy families send their children to private schools while poorer students are left with unequal equipment, deepening the deficient quality of life as well as that of the whole country.

In conclusion, although the argument seems understandable, private-school parents should still contribute to the state education system through taxes. This is because public schools serve the whole society, and tax exemption can harm the country