Fast food advertisements can be foulad on TV and throughout social media which tempts people to eat unhealthy food. Should fast food ads be banned?

Advertising is a ubiquitous part of our lives today. It is proven that television and online adverts influence consumers’ decision to patronize foods that are not good for their health. This essay seeks to dispel the notion that fast food ads should be debarred and provide a solution to this issue.

Firstly, the promotion of a good or service through advertisement plays a major role on consumer’s behavior. It is used to promote brand and product awareness and most importantly, it creates an emotional appeal. It directly affects a person’s emotions by building connections that go beyond what is normal. This shapes a person’s attitude towards the purchase of a product or service. For example, Rihanna, a celebrity works for Louis Vuitton and she promotes leather bags. Her presence brought attention to the company’s campaign and persuaded persons to obtain these bags. Fast food businesses, such as, KFC, Mac Donald and Subway are not excluded. Consumers are swayed to acquire these products because of advertisements.

Adverts relative to unhealthy foods should not be banned. It is proven that it raises business sales. The chain of fast-food restaurants is imperative to the survival of thousands of individuals throughout the world. Therefore, if it was removed these businesses can lose sales and eventually, business owners would have no choice but dismiss a number of their workers. Businesses should, however, educate the population as to the negative effects of eating foods that has a high salt, sugar and fat content. This can be done via short announcements after the main ads informing consumers of its negative effects.

In conclusion, advertisements play a major role in consumers’ decision making and also businesses. It helps increase the profit margin of an organization. Therefore, adverts geared towards fast food companies should not be forbidden. Consequently, consumers should be educated about the negative impact of consuming these foods too often.