Fast-food companies should not be allowed to give away free toys with their food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the popularity of fast food has increased massively in almost every country as a result of several marketing strategies, including giving away free toys. Consequently, many parents prefer to consume fast food because they do not have to buy toys for their children. However, there are several perspectives that should be considered regarding this marketing strategy, which finally requires this strategy to be banned.

First and foremost, the most important thing that should be taken into account is related to people’s health. Indeed, it can be argued that giving free toys might increase the selling quantity of fast food products but often the company does not consider the health and nutrition factors of their products. In the US, for example, the rate of obesity among the residents has increased over the last few years as they prefer to consume fast food rather than real food, such as vegetables and fruits, and mostly, it happens to parents who want to get free toys for their children. As a result, this eating habit contributes to several long-term diseases, such as diabetes and heart disease which are quite difficult to treat when being acute.

Secondly, giving free toys when purchasing fast food would reduce communication between parents and their children. This is because children will only focus on playing with their toys while the parents eat. If this practice continues, there will be a boundary between children and parents in the future as they only conduct their own business rather than strengthening the closeness between them.

In conclusion, it is essential to forbid the marketing strategy of giving free toys as it impacts negatively on people’s health and intimacy between children and their parents. As a suggestion, food companies should be focused on how their products can improve people’s health rather than only orienting on selling quantity.