First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job? To what extent do you agree?

First impressions indeed play a vital role in the recruiting process. While some individuals believe that this notion helps people secure a better job, I strongly disagree with this phenomenon and believe that relying solely on interviews leads to the loss of organisations and does not judge comprehensive evaluation.

It is widely thought that depending only on interviews can contribute to the loss of productivity in companies. This is because sometimes recruiting authorities recruit those people who have a lack of flexibility and adaptability with their work, although their interview performances are noticeable. For example, some people are good at communication skills and show off their fundamental abilities to others in interviews, but they do not have sufficient ability to adapt and flex with their work. As a result, owing to incompetent employees, companies or organisations experience a loss of productivity, which is a negative aspect of interviews.

Furthermore, first impressions might not judge appropriate staff for authorities. The reason for this is that when employees are included in companies, recruiting management focuses on employees’ first impressions; hence, they cannot understand in connection with other necessary skills. For instance, having a variety of abilities can develop overall prosperity for organisations, such as critical thinking, problem solving, and multitasking, instead of first impressions. Consequently, relying only on interviews leads to the prevention of a company’s advancement due to a lack of judgement.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that it is often argued that, as a matter of fact, first impressions play a pivotal role in securing a good job, I strongly disagree and believe that relying solely on first impressions leads to a loss of productivity and cannot judge suitable staff for a company, which cannot secure a better job.