For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Throughout history, reading, writing, and arithmetic have become indispensible parts of education. However, it is sometimes argued that computer skills need to be added among them as technology is advancing at a rapid pace. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea that human capability to work with computers can be a key to success and facilitate many aspects of life.

To begin with, a mastered computer skill may ensure individuals achieve their goals. When people hone such a modern skill, they can open up both professional and personal opportunities. For example, with good computer skills, one probably becomes highly competitive in the global job market, landing a decent-paying job, which is a critical achievement to maintain a quality life in today’s fast-paced world. When it comes to personal fulfillment, however, computer skills can improve the chances of receiving knowledge through reading resources available only in electronic versions, thus broadening people’s horizons to some extent. By expanding knowledge and improving employment prospects with the help of computer skills, humans can reach the success they aim for to a certain degree.

Moreover, it is undeniable that computer skills, if learned well, help human beings deal with a range of tasks with which they struggle. This skill can be absolutely effective for people, in particular students, when they have paper work with fierce deadlines to meet. For example, students in higher education find computer skills very useful in writing lengthy assignments that are required to be submitted in e-version. In professional settings, employers and managers also acknowledge the tremendous support that acquired computer skills provide. They can prepare necessary documents and reports with remarkable ease, relying on numerous software programs such as Microsoft Office, PowerPoint, and Word, allowing them to manage given tasks efficiently and on time.

In conclusion, I believe the acquisition of computer skills should be as crucial as learning how to read, write, and calculate, since these contemporary skills demonstrate unparalleled benefits for achieving success and easing our lives.