For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Reading, writing and maths were considered crucial parts of education for centuries. I agree that the computer must be the fourth skill that students should learn at the school because it is needed by employers and it is the digital age in which most of the students use their computers instead of pen and paper.

Most of the employers are interested in employing graduates who have computer skills. This is because of digitalisation in most aspects of each business. If the students do not have the computer skills, it will be difficult for them to get employed. For instance, the latest data that linkedin published in which talking about what employers are interested in, 90 percent of them considered hiring someone who has computer skills instead of hiring a graduate who does not have it.

In the universities and schools as well, most of the students use computers for their homework instead of paper and pen. The teachers use digital platforms to give homework to the students and give the marks after they submit. If the students have no computer skills, that can hinder their progress and lower their marks. For example, most of the schools use management systems in which they communicate with the students and post their assignments, grades, examination notice and other important things. Students should know how to use that system to stay connected.

To sum up, computer skills should be considered important as we consider the other three skills such as reading, writing and maths.