Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power, wind power. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many countries are using fossil fuels like coal, oil and natural gas as the main resources. However, some regions are gradually changing into alternative energy such as solar power and wind power. In my opinion, development of alternative energy instead of traditional resources is difficult at first but it will bring a lot of benefits in a long run.

Firstly, the development of alternative energy will put the financial burden on governments and companies because of additional costs for new equipment and modern facilities. Governments need to invest hundred of million dollars for replacing traditional resources. For instance, installing a wind turbine costs an average of 3 million dollars and the country needs an average of a hundred wind turbines to supply enough power for inhabitants. Moreover, the solar panels are high quality and useful equipment so the price of this is quite high. Therefore, purchasing solar panels is quite out of reach for developing countries. Secondly, Not all countries in the world are able to use the renewable energy due to the geographical limitations, such as Utqiaġvik in Alaska, which receives very little sunlight so using solar panels for living and producing is impossible.

On the other hand, the switch from fossil fuels to alternative energy has many advantages for humans. Many studies prove that using coal, oil and natural gas can cause air pollution and damage the human beings’ health such as individuals use petroleum-powered vehicles, releasing CO2 into the atmosphere. Thus, changing traditional energy into wind and solar energy will reduce the amount of emissions and improve the air quality. Moreover, fossil fuels are finite resources so those can be depleted in the near future because of overexploitation. Therefore, if it happens, it can be the main reason for economic depression.

In conclusion, I maintainthat replacing finite resources with renewable energy like solar power and wind power is necessary and it is actually a positive development because of significant benefits for inhabitants and government.