Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

Freshwater scarcity is a pressing global issue, particularly in certain regions where it is a limited resource. The escalating demand for freshwater exacerbated this problem. To deal with this requires a thorough examination of its cause and the particular solutions of governments and individuals. This essay is going to dig deeper into the causes and suggest some solutions.

On one hand, there are a number of weighty factors that cause freshwater to be scarce. One of them is urbanization. Rapid urban expansion led to increased water consumption for domestic, industrial and agricultural purposes in cities. The more people consume water, the more demand these cities have. Therefore, they may expend all their water resources. Furthermore, another factor is untreated wastewater from plants, which may pose a threat by releasing pollutants or chemicals into water resources. For example, if a factory that is located close to a river releases its untreated wastewater directly into the river without treatment processes, it may contaminate the natural water reservoir.

Because of the grave causes mentioned above, I propose that some effective measures may be beneficial for society. Firstly, inhabitants should implement the rules and prioritize sustainable water management practices. Secondly, authorities should put policies into practice to restrict plants that have no treatment processes. Finally, governments should create new technologies that generate artificial water. For instance, Japan has successfully advanced purifiers that could regenerate used water and convert it into clean water for further use.

In conclusion, although there are some causes toward the demand for freshwater, I believe that governments and individuals will have measures to cope with it.