Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Genetic engineering is a fast-developing technological advancement with a vast potential to transform various aspects of human life. However, there are 2 oppositionary sides in the issue of the extent to which this subject is going to make an impact on people’s lives, and whether it will be positive or negative. While one part is discussing its enormous potential to enhance the healthcare rates, another one is raising concerns about unforeseen consequences and possible damage. Personally, my predilactions are mostly about genetic engineering having much more good effects rather than detrimental ones. However, this essay will still explore both sides of this complex debate.

One of the most compelling arguments in favor of genetic engineering is its promise to alleviate human suffering by eliminating inherited diseases. There is a huge pool of people including me considering this technology as one of the best chances to find the treatment for every sickness the world has ever come across. With enough safe experiments with humans’ genes it’s highly possible that scientists will be able to find the solutions for such frightening illnesses as cancer, chorea, and a myriad of others. For instance, it’s already been explored that genetic engineering has been used to mass-produce human insulin providing people with biabetes with a chance to live fearlessly and ensuring safety.

However, there is an alternative perception about genetic engineering’s impact, consisting of concerns about its ecological implications. Critics argue that manipulating mother nature’s creations raises big questions about a potential danger for Earth’s environment. For example, the release of genetically modified organisms into the world could have unforeseen ecological consequences, potentially disrupting ecosystems and biodiversity. The long-term effects of genetic manipulation on humans and the planet remain largely unknown, meaning the possibility of dangerous and unintented consequences’ emergence.

In conclusion, genetic engineering presents a complex and controversial dilemma. While some opt to believe in the best future with this highly developed technology, others are afraid of its negative affections on vital and integral parts of people’s lives. Still, my opinion stays the same and is based on a faith in favourable consequences which could help the whole world fight with incurable and horrible diseases.