Globalization is creating a world with a single culture and destroying national identity in the process. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people are losing their traditions and identities because of globalization which unified the culture all over the world. This essay agrees with this statement because it is obvious that populations are adopting Westernized clothes, music, dances, and art to keep up with global trends on the internet. Moreover, international trade has standardized most products, and therefore, themes that reflected each area’s culture are starting to fade away.

The internet, particularly social media, led to the development of international trends that many individuals try to follow in an effort to be stylish and modernized. Therefore, many people ditched their traditional music and clothing for Westernized ones because they believe that their own culture cannot be incorporated in today’s world. Furthermore, artists and creators compete nowadays on a global level; thus, they try their best to produce content that is applicable everywhere. For instance, the songs produced by PSY, such as ‘Gangnam Style,’ are similar to American songs and very different from traditional Asian music. Another notable example is how traditional clothing in Malaysia, Japan, and China has largely been replaced by Western styles.

Moreover, all countries export and import from one another. This has led to the standardization of most products to be able to compete worldwide. Therefore, one finds the same things in the same stores everywhere they go, making all places look and feel the same. For example, you can find IKEA, Sony, and other huge companies’ products all over the world, with the same shapes, colors, and characters.

In conclusion, because of international trends on social media and the global market, people are slowly losing their national identities and adopting a global unified culture.