Globalization is creating a world with a single culture and destroying national identity in the process. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s era, globalization has become one of the prominent concerns for the world. It is a process of uniting each and every country with peace and harmony. However, some people stand with the idea that to do globalization the world ought to opt a single culture and neglect the national identity. I do not believe that this is the case as there are alternate ways that can be followed to achieve peace and harmony. Some of them are enumerated in following paragraphs.

The world is made up on the foundations of cultures, as a culture defines people’s origin and give them hope for their future and prosperity. Every culture has their own way of worshiping their gods, for instance, in Hinduism the devotees eat veg and sweets on auspicious occasions such as Diwali, on the contrary, in Islam the devotees enjoy non-veg on the occasion of Eid. These different ways differ in every culture and therefore people would be reluctant to opt for a single culture other than their own.

There are more than 200 countries in the world and each one of them is dedicated to become a developed nation. Every country has set their own rules and regulations for their prosperity, for example, in Japan employees are not given any unnecessary breaks and holidays as the government is majorly focused on economic development rather than on health development of the country. On the other hand, many European countries give their priority to work-life balance in which workers have a lenient schedule. These differences rejects the idea of destroying national identities. Furthermore, there are some countries that envy other countries which will be another obstacle in destroying their national identity.

To conclude, globalization can not be acquired by destroying people’s beliefs as these beliefs have kept their cultures and nations still standing in the world.