Globalization is creating a world with a single culture and destroying national identity in the process. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

From the Fourth Industrial Revolution to now, the Internet has become ubiquitous which goes hand in hand with the firm connection with people around the world regardless of distance. There is an opinion delineating that globalization is decreasing the diversity in cultures, traditions from all over the world. In my point of view, I will opine my statement in order to explain why I am neutral to this.

On the one hand, Globalization can cause a country to lose its cultures and traditions. This is mainly because of the rising trend of youngsters manipulating overseas traditions. To emphasize, Youngsters are the future of a country, hold the key to its development and prosperity since they are the people who will be the leader of the country and the major of the labor force in future. Therefore, everything they do, including their lifestyle, study or career will affect the country’s tradition. For this reason, if they tried to copy the life of overseas countries, learned about their history and forgot about their country, their country could be at risk of losing its tradition that the previous generations have created. For example, In VietNam, on many social media platforms such as Tiktok, Instagram or Facebook, it is obvious that many youngsters are choosing their lifestyle in overseas countries, and forgot about their histories, or cuisines. As a result, VietNam is at risk of losing their traditions, which has been mentioned many times on news and television programmes.

On the other hand, I believe that globalization can create many advantages for many countries to advertise their lovely cultures, make foreigners have more knowledge about them. And It goes without saying that the youngster is the prime factor to make this happen. By utilizing globalization, teenagers have opportunities to share it with overseas tourists, which supports cultures around the world from different countries to be more accessible to foreigners. In this situation, the world could create an ideal environment for humans, especially teenagers, to exchange their knowledges, have the ability to learn different cultures to make the diversity in their countries’ tradition. For example, Khanh Vy, who is a young Vietnamese celebrity, has posted many videos on social media platforms about Vietnam, about her country’s cuisine such as Pho, Bun Bo Hue or Bun Cha, and impressed many foreign viewers about their country with positive comments. Furthermore, not only Khanh Vy, but many youngsters in VietNam have put effort on sharing Vietnamese cultures around the world.

In conclusion, Although Globalization can destroy many countries’ countries without the control in absorbing the overseas lifestyle of the youngsters, I believe that this can become a booster for many youngsters to share and create the diversity of their countries’ cultures.