Government investment in sports is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The debate over government investments for sports and other facilities has been going on for ages with valid arguments on both sides. While I recognize the importance of other public services, I believe that funding for sports is equally important.

Firstly, investment in sports can enhance public health. With rising rates of obesity and other health issues, people are showing less interest in exercises which can further put the nation altogether in decline in all of the aspects such as in health, economic and also in education, because if the children are not fit they will not be able to study and they are also the upcoming generation and if they are not healthy how will the country develop? For instance, in India, institutions have started a new scheme in which the school has to follow the daily schedule provided by the ministers which includes exercise and sports leading to a better health of the pupils.

Moreover, sports can serve as a powerful social cohesion. Investment in sports facilities and programs often bring communities together. It also teaches an individual the factor of working well in a team which can further help them in their career in the long run. Furthermore, it induces the emotion of sportsmanship, hardwork and patience leading to a better and great personality.

On the other hand, it is also undeniable that providing funding for other community services is also crucial, for example in some countries such as Africa, there has not been much economic development, so these areas would require investments in those aspects.

In conclusion, it is evident from the given reasons that even though it is important for the government to assist other aspects, it is not true to say that investment in sports is a waste of money as it helps in keeping an individual fit and moral.