Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Personally, I would say that government allocations and money poured into categories related to arts, namely music and theatre maintenance and upgrades are such policies that first-world countries could benefit from . However, it might not be realistic to do and could have many unwanted consequences when compared to making improvements in public services for a developing country.

On one hand, governments starting to show interest in artistic developments is actually a good sign, it means that authorities actually care about the mental health of their citizens. Moreover, it gives out opportunities for a nation to preserve its heritages. By upgrading facilities and making use of novel technologies, for example, in the theaters, the youth could learn more about traditional values in such a practical and easy way. This scenario happens in developed countries, like in the Western world, when their public services are indeed well enough to serve their citizens, even for the minority, fulfilling everyone’s basic needs like medical inquiry, transportations service and education. Then it would be realistic to commence national investment in art and music because it helps improve their mental health, battles problems caused by overworking, including depression and chronic stress.

Conversely, there are countries that are poorer, which have their services like transportations, schools and health care systems not fulfilled by the government. As a result, they should consider pouring investment in public services in order to step by step improve taxpayers’ basic needs, facing challenges right in front of their eyes. Therefore, the authorities should regard those things as first priority, aiming to fix those things would eventually result in better living conditions for all, especially for those with lower socio-economic backgrounds.

In conclusion, if one government or a nation is well developed, they might consider supporting and helping out theatres and art galleries financially because they serve as irreplaceable destinations, representing a country’s values and honor its customs. Turning to the other hand, if a government chooses to focus on these values while its citizens still suffer from unsatisfied public health service quality or not having a proper education system, then it is nothing more than a gimmick to trick its citizenry. The decision and aiming goals of one government should be a better living condition for its people, it must remain realistic, straightforward and achievable by the time. As I said, the cultural preservation process should not be left out when planning reconstruction, especially the urban areas as no country could be great without reflecting and learning from mistakes in the past.