Government spend mony on railways rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Governments or the state should contribute more of their tax revenues to railways than to roads. In my opinion, railways are much more significant than roads as they are not only a means of public transportation but also a means of trade of goods.

Governments should raise their expenditure on railways more than on roads as railways allow more people to travel across cities within one means of vehicle rather than multiple vehicles. This reduces overall traffic and harm to the environment through carbon emissions. Railways are a public service or goods, so they can often be very cheap or free for citizens, which would be a motivating factor to travel to and from cities.

Moreover, railways can help boost businesses as trade goods can be delivered, as well as raw materials for production. This raises profits for businesses and so more tax revenue is generated for governments. There is more economic development as business expansion creates jobs, a flow of income, tax revenue, and development of areas.

Furthermore, building roads is more expensive than building railways, as roads require more raw materials. Roads also require other nearby roads to be blocked due to construction, causing more traffic and frustration among people. Rising road production leads to more carbon emissions, while railways commit less overall, or, if not, an electric railway removes emissions completely.

In conclusion, railways produce far more favorable outcomes and benefit society significantly more than roads through higher tax revenues for governments, free use of transportation for people, a boost to the trading economy, and environmental protection or minimal environmental effect.