Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some believe that it would be beneficial if governments spent financial sources on railways, others are of the opinion that money would be better spent on roads. Although I think that railways are vital for countries, I partly disagree with the idea, since roads are important for the infrastructure, logistics processes and daily life of the citizens.

Firstly, roads are an essential part of providing a comfortable way of transportation for people. Citizens use roads for commuting to work or home to their families in the fastest and most convenient way. Besides that, people might use any type of wheel transport to get to their destination, whereas railways are only for the specific trains that individuals should plan and book ahead of time, which is not always possible. For instance, the Americans might go on road trips, which they enjoy by spending time with other people, to go from one state to another in any time the transport is ready, having an opportunity to conveniently and efficiently reach their journey’s end.

However, there are also governments of the countries which are in need of taking care of the railways since the systems are essential for the economy and wider transportation, both internal and external. People usually have a need to use railways to travel for a long distance, such as between cities which are located far from each other. To give illustration, Kazakhstani people are often seen to use railways to travel between towns, since Kazakhstan has a lot of large steppes and it would be tiring and unfavorable to use roads. Moreover, railways systems might be used to export and import products, which are contributing to the economic well-being of the countries.

In conclusion, both railways and roads are widely used in different countries for different purposes, such as export and import, transportation and commuting. In my opinion, even though railway systems are crucially important for governments, roads remain the main thing that should be invested in.