Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

Educational reform is a contentious issue with various trends coming and going over the last few decades. While many individuals believe that government budget should be allocated more toward educating people, I believe that it is equally important to distribute it in other areas like sports and recreation.

On the one hand, there are various compelling reasons why more funds should be spent on education. Firstly, it encourages more innovation. For example, if science departments are getting more budget, their number of experiments would be greater; as a result, the possibility of having new technology increases. Another reason is that it would make teaching a lucrative job, which in turn would ensure that a nation is getting a better education system. For instance, if a graduate with a good result is getting higher pay for mentoring, he is more likely to not leave the field for other lucrative areas like industry and so on.

On the other hand, I hold the perception that the same amount of monetary resources should be distributed in other sectors like Sports and Entertainment. To begin with, playing sports can encourage collaboration between youngsters from a very early age, as many games require team play. Also, many sports are physically challenging and require flexibility of the player, thus it has the potential to inspire people towards physical fitness. Secondly, areas like entertainment can help to induce creativity. To exemplify, a child while watching a cartoon for the first time is introduced to a completely new world of imagination, which helps him to become creative In the future.

To recapitulate, although there are perks of investing majorly in educational systems, it seems to me that equal distribution in sports and entertainment is far more beneficial.