Group or team activities can teach more important skills for life than those activities which are done alone. Do you agree or disagree?

Group or team activities are thought to be able to teach more important life lessons than individual activities. From my perspective, while this argument holds some validity, I believe that individual tasks still offer several benefits for students.

On the one hand, the proponents of this phenomenon might argue that these collaborative activities will foster students’ soft skills. Since pupils have to cooperate to work out the solutions for their problems, they may, either actively or passively, be able to develop their communicative, problem-solving, and self-management capabilities. On the other hand, this view seems to ignore the role of students’ learning styles. Although this form of activity is relatively suitable for extroverted or kinesthetic learners, others may feel less inclined to participate in such tasks due to fear of public speaking or their timid nature. For example, in a group speaking task, there will always be a dominant student talking most of the time, while others may remain silent and put the responsibility on the talking person. Therefore, this type of activity, albeit beneficial for some, may hinder more people from acquiring more knowledge, including the proposed growth of soft skills.

Furthermore, tasks dedicated to individuals only can help improve other key aspects of a successful learner. Firstly, owing to the privacy this type of activity gives, students can have their own space to learn and avoid their peers’ judgements and criticisms if they do something incorrect. This can greatly enhance their self-confidence and self-assurance, leading to enhanced self-efficacy. Secondly, it is also easier for students to receive personalized learning. In comparison with the difficulty in seeking help in a group task, with personal activities, students can ask for individual feedback based on their own work. Despite the indirect contribution, this instant process of feedback can provide students with an intermediate safety net, facilitating their learning journey and the acquisition of necessary life skills. Therefore, learners can benefit both academically and psychologically from this type of activity.

In conclusion, while it is valid that cooperative activities can help certain students to develop their soft skills, individual tasks seem to be more effective for a wider range of students in developing their confidence and pursuing their own learning journey in the long run.