If people could choose between a life without working or a life spending too much time working, people would choose a life without work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When people have to choose one from two options: working hard or life without working, most of them would choose the latter scenario. I totally agree with this thinking due to some reasons that will be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are a lot of drawbacks when people choose to work too much. In detail, a person who spends almost their day on the office work, cannot spend time with their family as they are too busy. For example, if you are a full-time worker, you are working in an office for approximately 8 hours from 8 am to 16 pm, and then maybe you will also have to work overtime to earn more money, you would not have any time for your family since you are exhausted after working too much.

Moreover, a life without working will be so happy. When you do not have to work all day to ensure livelihood, you will have more time for yourself and your family. First, you can spend your time pursuing your aspirations. For example, many people have to choose the major they detest as it provides more money to ensure livelihood. Therefore, those people cannot pursue their favourite major since such a major could not support their living. As a result, a life without working could enhance people to transform their aspirations into real-life. Furthermore, this free life could strengthen every family’s bond as people have more time for their family. For example, people could replace their time in the office to watch a movie or hang out with their family, which fosters family’s understanding.

In conclusion, deciding to choose a life without working or a life spending too much time on working is a questionable topic. While both views hold their merits, I believe that a life without work brings more benefits since it strengthens family bonds and allows people to pursue their aspirations.