If some people get a chance to choose between life without work and spending most of the time working, then they would choose not to work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether people would choose not to work if there were a chance to choose how to live. While there are clear reasons behind the option of living without work, I believe that most of people would opt for a job.

There are several reasons behind the tendency of being willing to live without work. With the recent advancements in the field of technology and artificial intelligence, machines have taken over more and more jobs previously done by humans, thus making businesses to raise their hiring standards and impose demanding work conditions on employees. As a result, employees feel obligated to meet deadlines, work overtime to gain a competitive edge, thereby prioritizing their job responsibilities over other personal aspects in their lives, all of which can lead to debilitating feelings of stress and anxiety, ultimately making them vulnerable to fall into depression and impinge on their mental health. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that the majority of people prefer leading a comfortable lifestyle without overloading themselves with work.

Despite these arguments, I contend that individuals might choose to work for financial reasons. As the cost of living has risen worldwide due to high taxes and inflation rates, people have faced difficulties in meeting their basic needs like housing, utilities, and food, let alone investing in their dreams or saving up for future emergencies. In response to this financial uncertain future, it is not surprisingly to see more people seeking a multiple sourse of income to make ends meet, otherwise they can suffer from abject poverty. Gone are the days when people could afford a comfortable lifestyle, as today’s economic challenging landscape has forced people to look for a rewarding job to survive.

In conclusion, although willing to live without work stems from several reasons, I believe that many people might still seek for better career opportunities as a means of survival in today’s modern world.