If the product is good and meets consumer needs than advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree?

The question, whether goods of decent quality require commercials in media, is being under a lot of consideration for the last century. There are several aspect to this dilemma. And the answer often depends of which side of the of market you are.

Firstly, if something that is targeted to produce income needs better sales, for reasons it was recently introduced, or changed profoundly, when the brand owner, certainly, has all the rights to promote his product, and gain a fare share of market to come to the point where the research costs are covered the soonest. And for the consumers, otherwise, it would take longer time to locate and start appreciating the advantages of the new product, especially if they are conservative in tastes.

On the other hand, sometimes the changes, company claim their new products have, only serve the purpose of continuation of advertising with just slightly altered scenario, in order to ensure people do not forget the brand name. It has become some kind of a competition, when the last one shown a colorful clip with a memorable slogan wins a consumer’s attention and, consequentially, his money. Often, instead of actually researching and innovating, companies have to spend on commercials production more and more.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize the importance of advertisement in ensuring the competitiveness of economy for customers benefits, in both the quality and the price. Nevertheless, the efforts spent on spreading a word about the latest product in attempt to get it viral often go beyond any rational boundaries. Money otherwise invested in mutual interest of companies and the population are wasted fighting competitors which harms the entire economy. The only beneficiary of the situation is the copywriters living off that fight.