In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computer and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some nations, it has been difficult for children in isolated regions to gain access to education. In this essay, I will shed light on both perspectives to determine which approach is more suitable for the young.

Proponents of offering computers and Internet access typically point to the potential for its convenience and time-saving element. By using the Internet as a study method, students can access various sources of information in different fields with flexible time and places. This is especially true for children who want to identify their aptitude in a specialized area, thereafter pursuing and fostering it from their formative years. In addition, the Internet is likely to enable the young to embrace a more interesting study approach. Watching educational videos with images and audio on online learning websites makes lessons exciting and memorable.

Notwithstanding these valid arguments, I remain steady in my belief that traditional education is more beneficial due to several reasons. In a conventional environment, students can be equipped with academic knowledge, enhancing a varied skill set ranging from time-management, problem-solving to critical thinking. Furthermore, it is undeniable that teachers can serve as role models for children, helping them become aware of their rights, duties, and differentiate between right and wrong. Through face-to-face interaction, students have the ability to receive continuous assessment from their teachers, which is the catalyst for valuable self-improvement. For example, according to BBC news in 2014, students accessing traditional education are likely to be more successful and have stable income in their career than those pursuing Internet teaching methods due to their valuable qualifications provided by schools.

In conclusion, while Internet and computer access brings valuable merits, which is holistically commendable, I believe that a conventional educational environment is far more beneficial, which can maximize students’ potential and help them become well-rounded persons.