In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The overweight and unhealthy problems of children are controversial issues around the world. It is sometimes believed that the government should hold responsibility to tackle these issues. In my view, while I acknowledge the reasons why some may agree with such a view, I firmly disagree with it.

To begin with, those who believe the government should have responsibility often point to governmental power. They may argue that the government has the power to reduce children’s exposure to harmful products, which prevents them from excessive consumption of processed and high-sugar foods. By way of illustration, the government can impose an age limit for the purchase of high-fat and high-calorie foods. This may ensure young children, who may not have enough awareness of how harmful these foods are to their health, cannot buy and consume them. Furthermore, several large-scale health workshops can be introduced by the government. Such events can inform and educate children about severe chronic diseases associated with a sedentary lifestyle and physical inactivity. Additionally, the government can also generate more sport competitions to create an environment for children to engage in regular exercise, which strengthens their fitness and health.

However, I strongly believe that the primary responsibility of coping with children’s health lies with parents because of their closer relationship. It is irrefutable that due to a closer relationship, children are more likely to believe in advice provided by their parents. Therefore, parents can encourage their children to do more outdoor activities, which helps them build resilience and keep fit. The evidence can be seen in soccer matches where children can reduce calories from food and stay fit by running throughout the match. Moreover, parents can also create nutritious and balanced diets for their children, which avoid over-consumption of processed food, reducing the risk of weight gain and obesity.

In conclusion, proponents of the view that the government is responsible for dealing with the overweight and unhealthy issues of children do so because of the government’s power. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that parents have to hold the primary responsibility due to their closer relationship with children.