In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is widely argued that young generation have a tendency to obese and be unhealthy. According to some, it is the duty of the authority to tackle the issue. While there is some truth to this belief, I find the idea rather insensible, thereby disagreeing with it.

There are some ways for the government to solve the problem. The main one is that children should be taught how to stay fit at schools. In most countries, schools cannot make up new rules by themselves and to implement them is the work of the government. Having learnt what to eat and differentiate healthy and unhealthy food, children will be more cautious about their eating habits. Moreover, there should also be some workshops or classes conducted by the government to motivate the children to exercise more and stay fit. As doing exercise has many health benefits, such as blood circulation, youngsters are more likely to be healthy.

On the other hand, authority cannot make these changes all on its own. First of all, parents should also contribute with controlling their children. Despite knowing drawbacks of unhealthy food, including snacks and junk food, children tend to have them a lot. If parents were more attentive to their children’s diet, they would be less likely to suffer from obesity or be healthier. Furthermore, neighbors can be included to the list of the people who are responsible for children’s well-being. Observing what their next-door kids are doing and eating outside the school and home, children will have no access to reach the unhealthy food or spent their time on unimportant activities.

In conclusion, although the authority has the responsibility of taking the children’s health into control to some extents, not only are parents responsible for the case, but neighbors should also be on duty.