In many countries, good schools and medical facilities are available only in cities. Some argue that new teachers and doctors should work in rural areas for a few year, but others think everyone should be free to choose where they work. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Urbanization has resulted in high-quality healthcare and education becoming concentrated in the cities. The rural areas have consequently been left with minimal numbers of skilled individuals, such as teachers and doctors. While some believe that newly qualified doctors should work in rural areas to deal with the shortage, others believe that one should be granted the freedom to choose where to work.

Most believe that young professionals need to be sent to rural areas to stop the shortage of basic facilities. For instance, in remote regions, people might not have access to good healthcare and education. By sending newly graduated doctors and teachers to such regions, they get experience as well as fulfill their social cause. The experience helps the professionals view the unique rural challenges and perhaps come up with innovative solutions to bridge the gap. Benefiting both parties.

Others, however, find that individuals should be free to choose where they work. Most of the professionals tend to pursue further education while they work, especially in urban centers where there are many opportunities to pursue higher studies. Forcing the graduates to work in rural settings may constrain these opportunities, which would be frustrating and could deeply affect their performance. Furthermore, forced displacement could lead to disengagement, which could affect the quality of service badly. Therefore, the freedom of choice ensures higher motivation and improved contributions to society.

In short, even though rural populations definitely need to be served by skilled professionals. A better way would be to have a balance, offering encouragement rather than forced service. Under the right set of encouragement, like money awards or loan discharge, young professionals would be inclined to offer their services to rural populations, and both the professionals and the served rural populations would be benefited.