In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, education has been a matter of debate, with some arguing that it is becoming competitive to get enrolled in universities. In my opinion, overpopulation is the main factor that drives this issue and it may have a detrimental influence on our world.

First and foremost, the phenomenon undoubtedly stems from the rise in the demographic rate. This is primarily because the more individuals are born, the greater the space on earth diminishes. In China, for example, after a surge in the population in 2008, the government had to cut down a wide range of forests to accommodate the number of citizens, ensuring sustainable well-being for all. In doing so, this country suffered from a lack of lands used to construct schools and other leisure facilities, resulting in the insufficent number of colleges. If inhabitants want to engage in universities, they have to compete to acquire that opportunity.

Consequently, this can potentially pose a threat to not only residents but also nations as a whole. First and foremost, as plenty of individuals may be unable to take part in colleges, they will certainly not possess any academic qualifications, which are the priorities of recruiters. A vast number of citizens, therefore, might have difficulty seeking a job, leading to the increase in the unemployment statistics. In the US, for instance, has witnessed a prominent climb in the proportion of jobless Americans, resulting from limited certifications. This has placed a burden on the American economy and its authorities, hindering the overall development of the country.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the considerable populations growth has led to the increasing competitions between students to study at universities. As a result, this can offer several repercussions to numerous countries.