In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has been noticeable that the university entrance exam is getting increasingly competitive, and some have questioned why or whether this is a positive development. I believe there are two main reasons for this, and I don’t think this is either an entirely positive or negative phenomenon.

The first reason why attending tertiary education nowadays is more competitive than ever is due to the vast investment of parents into their children’s education. In the past, it was acceptable for a child to drop out of school to help with farming. However, most parents now want to ensure a better future for their kids, so they urge them to compete for a slot in the most prestigious university possible. The second reason why universities are getting harder to get into is simply because of the rising population of high schoolers. More universities should have been built to accommodate this demand from upcoming generations. However, because the rate of opening new colleges cannot compete with that of population rise, children would have to compete against one another for college admissions.

Regardless of the reason for this development, I do not see this as entirely positive nor negative. On the one hand, there are some benefits to this. Future generations will be more knowledgeable than the current ones. With an influx of fresh graduates equipped with high-level knowledge, the country can expect more technological developments. This can be seen from the growth of entrepreneurship in the technology industry. On the other hand, however, this intense competition will take a toll on both students and parents. More time will be spent studying for the exam, which equates to deteriorating physical and mental health of high schoolers. Parents are also affected by the mental and financial pressure of finding and paying for tutoring centers.

In conclusion, getting into colleges is more competitive due to children being more competitive and the population rising. Although I think this is a positive development for society, some measures are needed to prevent the ultimate burnout.