In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a large number of countries, opting for going to higher education has become increasingly popular among students, resulting in a more competitive educational environment. In this essay, I will evaluate the reasons behind this tendency before arguing whether it is beneficial or detrimental.

On the one hand, it is true that the more individuals engaged in university education, the harsher the entrance exam is. This result is fundamentally equivalent to the fact that people who want to enroll in higher education have to study harder because the exam requires them to have solid foundation in their chosen subjects. To reach that goals, students need to have some factors such as, discipline, self-motivation or having an ability to manage their schedule well. As a result, universities may recruit high-quality students that can easily go through their curriculums, who eventually contribute to the growth of nations. Beyond the competitive environment, this trend also encourages well-rounded students who live under disadvantaged socio-economic backgrounds to participate in high education, meaning that universities may admit potential students, giving them opportunities to work in top-tier companies.

On the other hand, despite those benefits this trend bring about, there are also some drawbacks. Firstly, the rising number of individuals choosing university means that the large number of them will fail to attend in universities, consequently leaving them with no direction of the future. This is because many students study under pressures of parent, friends or society. They believe that universities are the exclusive destinations for them to success. Therefore, students put a lot of efforts for retaking the exam, given that they don’t have potential. Hence, many students step into their life with no specific skill, which prevent them from earing money. As a result, the unemployment rate increases, and economic growth of their countries is stagnant due to the imbalance of labour force.

In conclusion, while the increasing number of students pursuing higher education has both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that this trend is overall beneficial due to the opportunities it creates and its positive impact on society.