In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most of the supermarkets around the world now sell foods that are from different places. I think this is a positive development, because many immigrants can taste their home food easily, and supermarkets often sell cuisines in a relatively cheaper price compared to restaurants.

Firstly, people who came from an another country, can find and access their local food without difficulty. This can fulfill one’s desire and feelings of missing their home country. Also, consuming familiar appetites helps settling in a new environment, until they are used to the foods in their local area. For instance, a Chinese supermarket called T&T, is renowned for offering many Asian nourishments which attracts countless number of customers from China and other Asia countries.

Secondly, supermarkets sell various types of cuisine for considerably cheaper prices than having to visit and order from enjoyable restaurants. This gives customers the unique experience of tasting dishes from other regions without them having to visit the country. The meals are also sold in a pretty high quality, and it is uncommon to see people disappointed after trying them. For example, many local food stores sell cooked meals like samosa from India or kimbap from Korea. The customers buy these foods to have a knowledge of what they taste like, with no money spent on plane tickets.

In conclusion, I think the development of supermarkets selling foods from all around the world is highly beneficial. People can experience a familiar taste from their home country, while for a relatively cheaper price compared to actual restaurants.