In many countries, people are choosing to live alone at a younger age than ever before. Do the advantages of living alone outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, more and more people prefer living alone to living with families or others. Although living alone has certain benefits, I am convinced that the drawbacks of this issue are more significant.

Granted, living alone helps people become more independent and more mature in their life. Unlike people who live with their family, individuals living alone have to take care of themselves, such as studying, doing housework or managing their income. Therefore, they could learn more soft skills and develop themselves such as improve their self-discipline. In the past, because of the unpopularity of living alone, children usually depended on their parents and assistants, which limited them to develop themselves.

However, I believe that the disadvantages of this issue outweigh the advantages. When people live alone, the safety of them is not ensured. For instance, people living alone are more likely to become targets of criminal activities, because there is no one living in the house to protect them. Criminals may find it easier to carry out their bad intentions such as valuable assets when they know there is no one in the victim’s house or there is only a person in the house. This, as a consequence, can create a constant sense of fear and insecurity in daily life. Another drawback is the lack of support when they have to face challenges such as becoming sick and face emergencies. At this time, although they are independent and self-disciplined, they can not take care of themselves because they do not have enough ability for it.

In conclusion, although living alone has a majority of benefits such as developing them to become mature and independent, I believe that the drawbacks of this issue impact more individuals’ lives, especially their safety.