in many countries, people are consuming more sugar based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption.

Sugary drinks are manufactured and consumed more in western countries and they are branded even in developing countries. Consumption of sugary drinks causes lots of problems and reduction ways to be implemented. Below are the key reasons and further are the discussion for it.

Sweetened beverage are consumed in high rate in countries like USA because of its cost. Its cheaper than mineral water and advertised as energy drinks. Sweetness in the beverage has got kids addicted to it. Countries like USA are largest manufacturers of coco-cola and their subsidiary drinks. The ingredients are mentioned as small fonts in a corner of the drink which doesn’t allow people to see their percentage of sugar consumption. These products are advertised by favorite players, actors which attracts kids and teens, drink up of these causes severe problems like obesity, type2 diabetes and malnutrition in kids.

Perhaps the consumption of these to be avoided is by imposing strict rules through laws and by controlling the addition of preservatives, sweeteners and mention of ingredients in the product and the percentage of sugar available. Government needs to take up additive measures like mentioning the age group and whom needs to consume. An recent example is that a product of nestle adds sugar to baby food products in countries like Asia and Africa. Government needs to stop these kind of acts by the company and stop producing these products as it impacts infants and causes ADHD. The WHO and UNESCO should take up initiatives and ban these type of food products and sweet beverages for kids and teens as it impacts children all over the world.

To conclude, I strongly recommend that government should take up serious precautionary activities through education and also impose rules in the production of goods based on the food committee recommendation.