In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays western type clothes, including suits and jeans are more preferable by individuals, in comparison with traditional garments. Globalization and dominance of the USA are considered main reasons for this tendency. Despite the abundance of approaches, I strongly believe that it is a negative development.

In recent years, globalization has become a popular tendency in the world which gathers individuals in common values, and it affects people’s clothing style. According to the opinions of Fukuyama, the best ideology belonged to the West; therefore, in the end mankind will unite around this ideology in a political, social, economical and cultural way. So the ideas of Fukuyama approved itself and humans started to wear western clothes, due to comfort and simplicity, being influenced by the soft power of western countries. In addition, the USA plays an essential role in distribution of clothes in western style. After the finish of the “Cold War”, the USA turned out to be a superpower. Leading of the USA in every sphere, especially in culture, is one of the main reasons. Thanks to the idea which is called “American dream” they impact many countries and prevent the approach of wearing traditional clothes.

From my point of view, it functions as a negative development, because it causes assimilation and the danger of the disappearing of cultural heritage. Individuals who prefer to deny their traditional clothes contribute to the process of assimilation. According to the survey in Turkey, 95% of the population do not have knowledge about their traditional clothes. It is an indicator of the assimilation level in the country. Furthermore, this tendency can result in loss of sentimental values and disappearing of heritage which has thousands of years of history. India is one of the countries that struggle with the assimilation and attain to protect their traditions. To illustrate, Indian people still dress up traditional clothes.

In conclusion, internationalization and authority of the USA promote wearing west clothes. In my opinion, it has a negative effect on society, leading to the assimilation and destruction of heritage.