In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

After intensive periods of study, having an adequate rest is essential. However, while some primary and secondary schools offer long-term breakes of two or more months, many official educational systems recommend no more than two weeks of holidays. This essay will discuss both arguments.

On the one hand, long-term holidays may help students to concentrate on their personal hobbies or prepeare for the next study year. Learners can enhance their individuality, instead of consuming sometimes unneccesarry knowledges in schools or colleges. For example an Olympic athlethe, instead of studying math at school to maintain stable grades, can concentrate solely on his sport career. Another case, programmer may spent hours working on his personal project, instead of learning about the art development in Italy. Thus, long-term holidays are beneficial for those, who demand additional time on their personalization.

However, long-term study gaps also have various drawbacks. Many learners are vulnerable to forgetting important materials, or wasting their time, in other words, academically degrading, during their holidays. Many private schools offer vital theoretical and practical knowledges; consequently, sometimes long-term holidays may be a distributing factor in their educational journey by slowing down the progress. Additionally, free time spent inaccurately (unproductively) may lead to career and social problems. Students waste their time, instead of learning and constantly broadening their knowledges. Therefore, long-term holidays can potentially hurt some pupils, as the same time spent on school would be more productive.

In conclusion, long-term holidays are essential for strong individuals, who strive achieaving success in their professions/goals. However, this trend may be harmfull in the wrong hand, as students often underestimate their free time and may spent it unproductively.