In many countries, students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. Why is that the case? What could be done to tackle the issue?

High school, graduates without knowing how to handle their finances properly. Because no one in school teaches them this skill, but a single solution of intergration can solve this problem.

First of all, no school teaches this skill in particular. These educational institutions mainly focuses on academics, such as Math, Sciences, and English. If there are other subjects that are taught in school, these will tackling music, arts, and physical education; none of which is related to handling money. This results in students graduating from highschool without learning or applying this important skill. For example, here in the Philippines, almost all high school graduates suffer from financial difficulties, or more, crisis later in life due to the fact that they have no knowledge on how to allocate their monthly budgets because schools were not equipped to teach this skill.

For this reason, financial management should be mandatory. This must be included in the high school curriculum because this can be a life-long lesson that can be used in their daily lives. In the long run, they would not encounter financial concerns that they could not handle. Additionally, proper budget allocation may allow them to save up money for future use in case of emergencies occuring later in life. This skill becomes a habit which result in financial freedom that would let them buy all of their need and be able to give in to all of their wants. All student should be immersed and indulge to this subject.

To end, although high school graduates did not learn handling finances or there is no subject in school about this, it is never too late for future students.