In many countries, students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. Why is that the case? What could be done to tackle the issue?

It cannot be denied that there are an increasing number of students who have already graduated but are unable to manage their own finances. This essay will underscore the reasons for this situation and underscore resolutions to prevent recurrence of this phenomenon.

Limitations of financial independence are based on denial of the need and limitations on basic curriculum. Primarily, children are taught in their home about the fundamental knowledge on spending habits however, they are limited to broadening understanding due to the denied fact of its significance at young age. Parents nowadays, for instance, are afraid of the fact that children explore different household responsibilities such as managing the budget for food consumption because of the tendency of mistakes. Moreover, after the parents have taught children at their home, lessons are delivered to children based on the school curriculum and lesson plan made by teachers which financial management is not a part of. Students, for instance, learn about the basic skills handling of money such as addition, subtraction and multiplication but not how to efficiently suffice the other individual needs that need to be addressed.

Nevertheless, cases of understanding towards financial freedom begin at the household and through teaching. Starting to reinforce children into little ways of developing their skills in handling resources is possible when consistently and progressively inculcated. For instance, testing budgeting skills by allowing them to fit their school allowance in the period covered. As a result, having adequate money introduces them to ways of saving it and learning to prevent impulsive expenses. Another example worth mentioning is school teacher involvement towards student’s future mindset. Take, for example, teaching the students process on how to track their expenditure and teaching ideas such as opening bank accounts to encourage saving even in small amounts.

Overall, while limitations and denial have caused children to progress in life skills, household and school involvement promotes financial independence.